Are you interested in a journalism apprenticeship at the Freetech Academy? Apply now and start your career in Europe's largest media company! The only prerequisite: talent and passion - we'll teach you the rest.
tech program

“Our Tech Program is an important part of securing the future of journalism. The curiosity and creative drive of our tech talents play a key role in promoting disruptive innovations and an understanding of interdisciplinary work in the Group.”

Henrike Hedel
Head of Tech Program

advantages of our tech program

1.400 € Allowance per month

Participation in progressive projects

Small groups and intensive supervision

Perspectives in one of the most successful media house in Europe

content of our training

At Axel Springer, we want to make journalism future-proof and promote the development of disruptive innovations. This is only possible if new technologies and journalism go hand in hand. That’s why we created an innovative tech program for young tech talents who want to advance the future of technology-driven media innovations through interdisciplinary teamwork between tech and journalism experts.

In addition, current tech trends and derived potentials for the media industry are regularly introduced and discussed in events and workshops.

TECH STUDIES AT CODE

For the theoretical training of our tech talents, we work together with the CODE University of Applied Sciences. One of three state-recognized courses can be chosen (B.Sc. Software Engineering, B.A. Interaction Design and B.A. Product Management). CODE pursues an innovative learning concept that relies on theory through practice, self-learning skills and interdisciplinarity and is shaped by the curiosity and creativity of the students themselves.

ON-THE-JOB TRAININGS

Parallel to their studies, our tech talents get practical experience in their home unit or through so-called unit visits within Axel Springer. The duration of the assignment is usually 6 months and offers the opportunity to deepen one’s own skills, get to know different brands and thus understand Axel Springer as a whole. The cost of living is covered by a fair salary.

INTERDISCIPLINARY PROJECTS

An important part of the program is the six-month collaboration in interdisciplinary projects. The aim is to create a common understanding of tech-driven media innovations in all phases of story production. The work is characterized by a close connection to our units and editorial offices, as well as the exploratory nature of the projects.

Newsletter

Are you interested in the FreeTech Academy? Would you like to learn more about our training and digital journalism? Then subscribe to our newsletter and stay up to date.

© Axel Springer SE 2022 – Axel Springer SE wants to become the world's most successful digital publisher.

Du interessierst Dich für eine Journalisten-Ausbildung an der Freetech Journalistenschule? Bewirb Dich jetzt und starte Deine Karriere in Europas größtem Medienunternehmen! Einzige Voraussetzung: Talent und Leidenschaft - den Rest bringen wir Dir bei. Bewerbungsschluss ist der 1. Juni 2022.

tech program

„Unser Tech Program ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Zukunftssicherung des Journalismus. Die Neugier und der Gestaltungswillen unserer Tech Talente spielen eine wesentliche Rolle dabei, disruptive Innovationen und das Verständnis für interdisziplinäre Arbeit im Konzern zu fördern.“

Henrike Hedel
Head of Tech Program

vorteile unseres tech programs

1.400 € Beihilfe pro Monat

Mitarbeit an zukunftsweisenden Projekten

Kleine Gruppen und intensive Betreuung 

Perspektiven in einem der erfolgreichsten Medienhäuser Europas

inhalte unserer ausbildung

Wir wollen bei Axel Springer den Journalismus zukunftssicher machen und die Entwicklung von disruptiven Innovationen fördern. Das geht nur, wenn neue Technologien und Journalismus Hand in Hand gehen. Deshalb haben wir ein innovatives Tech Program für junge Tech-Talente ins Leben gerufen, das geprägt ist von der interdisziplinären Teamarbeit zwischen Tech- und JournalismusexpertInnen und der praktischen Erfahrung innerhalb Axel Springers. Für uns ist dies der Grundstein für technologiegetriebene Medieninnovationen und die Zukunft des Journalismus. 

Darüber hinaus werden regelmäßig in Veranstaltungen und Workshops aktuelle Tech-Trends und daraus abgeleitete Potenziale für die Medienindustrie kennengelernt und diskutiert.  

TECH-STUDIUM AN DER CODE

Für die theoretische Ausbildung unserer Tech-Talente arbeiten wir mit der CODE University of Applied Sciences zusammen. Dabei kann einer von drei staatlich anerkannten Studiengängen gewählt werden (B.Sc. Software Engineering, B.A. Interaction Design und B.A. Product Management). CODE verfolgt ein innovatives Lernkonzept, das auf Theorie durch Praxis, Selbstlernkompetenz und Interdisziplinarität setzt und von der Neugier und Kreativität der Studierenden selbst geprägt ist 

ON-THE-JOB TRAININGS

Parallel zum Studium bekommen unsere Tech-Talente praktische Erfahrung in ihrer Home-Unit oder durch sogenannte Unit-Visits innerhalb Axel Springers. Die Einsatzdauer beträgt in der Regel 6 Monate und bietet die Möglichkeit, die eigenen Kompetenzen zu vertiefen, verschiedene Marken kennenzulernen und so Axel Springer als Ganzes zu verstehen. Die Lebenshaltungskosten werden durch ein faires Gehalt gedeckt. 

INTERDISZIPLINÄRE PROJEKTE

Ein wichtiger Teil des Programms ist die sechs-monatige Zusammenarbeit in interdisziplinären Projekten. Ziel ist es dabei, ein gemeinsames Verständnis für techgetriebene Medieninnovationen in allen Phasen der Story-Produktion zu schaffen. Die Arbeit ist geprägt von einer engen Bindung an unsere Units und Redaktionen, sowie dem explorativen Charakter der Projekte.

Newsletter

Du interessierst Dich für eine Ausbildung an der FreeTech Academy? Du möchtest mehr über digitalen Journalismus, unsere Workshops und Updates zur Bewerbung erfahren? Dann abonniere jetzt unseren Newsletter und bleibe auf dem Laufenden.

© Axel Springer SE 2022 – Die Axel Springer SE will der erfolgreichste Digitalverlag weltweit werden.