the team of the freetech academy

A passionate team stands behind the FreeTech Academy and works day after day on our vision with a lot of joy and energy.

HENRIKE HEDEL

Head of Tech Program

After joining Axel Springer in 2018, Henrike worked in Product and Innovation before joining FreeTech as Head of Tech Program in February 2022. She was part of the early founding team and helped shape and drive the academy early on before finally joining the team.

Henrike started her career at Airbus Defence & Space and stayed there for 6 years, working in various international teams in consulting and innovation.

Although Henrike left the space industry to pursue a Master in Innovation Management at Linnaeus University in Sweden, she is still an astronaut at heart. She loves Swedish pastries and goes jogging (one conditions the other).

 

RUDOLF PORSCH

Deputy Head of  journalism school

As deputy head of journalism training, Rudolf Porsch is primarily responsible for curricula and everything to do with money and contracts. Parallel to his law studies, he has worked as a freelance journalist in Germany and the U.S. and in management positions at radio stations and daily newspapers.

He likes to learn new things all the time (at the age of 50, he still has his MBA), loves direct communication and, as the father of three lively sons and a senior at FreeTech, always has an open ear for many a request, even unusual ones. That’s perhaps why friends call him Bobby. What he hates (and that was also the reason for him to become a journalist) is hypocrisy.

NIDDAL SALAH-ELDIN

Managing Director

Niddal has been Managing Director of FreeTech – Axel Springer Academy of Journalism and Technology since September 2021. The future of journalism is her topic.

Previously, she served as Deputy Editor-in-Chief of the news agency dpa since May 2019. There she was responsible for Product & Innovation and developed new business areas and revenues in digital.

She studied journalism and political science in Mainz and Washington, D.C., graduating in 2012 with a Magister Artium. She gained practical experience at the UN, ZDF, CNN, Spiegel and Ketchum Pleon. She joined Axel Springer in 2014, where she worked in various leading positions in the WELT newsroom until 2019, looking after partnerships, social media, paid content and newsroom innovation.

 

Since July 2022 she has been responsible for the newly created Executive Board department Talent & Culture at Axel Springer.

EKATERINA SCHNEIDER

Head of Digital Training & Upskilling Programs

As Head of Digital Training & Development, Ekaterina is responsible for the development of various training programs. Her goal is to anchor technology topics even more strongly in the continuing education programs at Axel Springer.

Prior to joining the FreeTech team, Ekaterina has held various positions within the Axel Springer Group over the past 7 years. Ekaterina is very passionate about technology and its impact on education. She is a true globetrotter and has lived in 3 different countries before settling in Berlin 11 years ago.

Outside of work, Ekaterina spends most of her time with her family, discovering new countries and has an ambitious goal to learn how to play the cello.

KRISTIN SCHULZE

Head of Academic Affairs

Kristin is Head of Academic Affairs and Director of Studies at the FreeTech Academy. She oversees the journalism school’s curriculum, student digital projects, and collaboration between our tech talent and journalism students.

After a foray into the hotel industry, Kristin started her career as a producer for BBC, Sky News and National Public Radio NPR, for which she worked during her studies at FU Berlin.

Even before her training at the Axel Springer Akademie, she started as a presenter and reporter for Bild.de. She covered political events as well as international news and show topics. Kristin has now been working at the FreeTech Academy for several years and is very happy to constantly support new, young talents in their career start.

MARC THOMAS SPAHL

Founding Director journalism school

Marc Thomas, or simply Tom, is the founding director of FreeTech and head of journalism training at Axel Springer. He started out as a reporter in his native Nuremberg, graduated from the Henri Nannen School in Hamburg, and meanwhile wrote for SPIEGEL, Stern and DIE ZEIT. In the years that followed, he worked as a department head, head of copy, managing editor and deputy editor-in-chief at Gruner + Jahr and the Milchstrasse publishing group, among others.

He has been with Axel Springer since 2001, was a member of the editorial board of the WELT Group, before helping to establish the “Axel Springer Academy” and taking over its management in 2010. His goal then as now: to provide young talents with the best and most progressive journalism training.

Tom’s hobbies include cooking, and to work off the consequences of the countless, not always successful experiments: Running.

KATJA TRUSS

Management Assistant

As an assistant to the academy management in the area of journalism education, Katja supports our teaching operations. In her first life she was a lawyer, then a student advisor in an English school. Afterwards she spent some time in South Africa, where she was able to teach a little German. Back in Germany she worked as an assistant for a so-called grasshopper, but this was a bit too exciting in the long run. So at the beginning of 2011 she moved first to the sales department, then to Axel Springer’s service division.

Quite unplanned, a real estate focus had crept into her CV and persisted. Since starting at the Academy, this issue has given way to a very lively task with highly motivated volunteers and tech students.

GRIT-KERSTIN URBAN

Management Assistant

Grit is a management assistant at the FreeTech Academy. She coordinates the annual application process for the best talents at the journalism school, supports the Academy management, is the contact person for volunteers and lecturers, and oversees the “Axel Springer Prize for Young Journalism”.

In 2009 she joined Axel Springer, where she initially worked for over a year in the Group Organization/Corporate Development department and in the Finance and Services board department before moving to the Axel Springer Academy in 2010. Prior to that, she worked for 12 years at the ProSiebenSat.1 broadcasting family in the Program Marketing department.

She loves traveling, sports AlpinSkiing/cycling/running – preferably with her family and friends.

JENNIFER WOLF

Assistant & Head of Editorial internships

If you want to do an editorial internship at Axel Springer SE, Jenny is the right person for you. In 2012, she completed her training as a media clerk for digital and print in-house and worked for several years as a digital manager at WELT classified marketing. After further stops (including at Corporate Communications), she moved to the FreeTech Academy in 2017 and has since focused on supervising interns.

Those who pay attention to a competent first impression have a good chance of getting a job in the editorial department or even volunteering at FreeTech Academy. A big heart for guinea pigs could possibly lead to further plus points with Jenny. But don’t let the management find out.

Joeline Radtke

Working student  – Upskilling & Tech

Joeline recently joined Freetech Academy as a working student.

She supports our tech and upskilling programs in their efforts to foster successful journalism in the age of disruption, and to enable our colleagues to future-proof and enhance their existing skills through innovative, technology-enabled learning and upskilling programs.

MELISSA PAPAFIO – ROBERTS

Apprentice for Office Management 

Melissa has been with Axel Springer since 2019.
She started at APX as a receptionist and started her apprenticeship as an office administrator in 2020. She started her training with FreeTech Academy as her first training station and is now back to support the team in many different projects.

© Axel Springer SE 2022 – Axel Springer SE wants to become the world's most successful digital publisher.

das team der freetech academy

Ein leidenschaftliches Team steht hinter der FreeTech Academy und arbeitet Tag für Tag mit viel Freude und Energie an unserer Vision.

HENRIKE HEDEL

Head of Tech Program

Nach ihrem Einstieg bei Axel Springer im Jahr 2018 arbeitete Henrike im Bereich Produkt und Innovation, bevor sie im Februar 2022 als Head of Tech Program bei der FreeTech anfing. Sie war bereits Teil des frühen Gründungsteams und hat die Akademie schon früh mitgestaltet und vorangetrieben, bevor sie endgültig zum Team stieß. 

Henrike begann ihre berufliche Laufbahn bei Airbus Defence & Space und blieb dort 6 Jahre lang, um in verschiedenen internationalen Teams in den Bereichen Beratung und Innovation zu arbeiten.

Obwohl Henrike die Raumfahrtindustrie verlassen hat, um einen Master in Innovationsmanagement an der Linnaeus-Universität in Schweden zu machen, ist sie im Herzen immer noch eine Astronautin. Sie liebt schwedisches Gebäck und geht gerne joggen (eins bedingt das andere).

RUDOLF PORSCH

stellv. Direktor der Journalistenschule

Als stellv. Leiter der Journalistenausbildung ist Rudolf Porsch vor allem zuständig für Lehrpläne und alles, was mit Geld und Verträgen zu tun hat. Er hat parallel zum Jura-Studium als freier Journalist gearbeitet in Deutschland und den USA und in Chef-Funktionen bei Radiostationen und Tageszeitungen.

Er lernt gerne und permanent dazu (hat mit 50 noch seinen MBA gebaut), liebt die direkte Ansprache und hat als Vater von drei lebhaften Söhnen und als Senior der FreeTech stets ein offenes Ohr für so manches, auch ungewöhnliche Anliegen. Das ist vielleicht der Grund, warum ihn Freunde Bobby nennen. Was er hasst (und das war auch für ihn der Grund, Journalist zu werden) ist Heuchelei.

NIDDAL SALAH-ELDIN

Geschäftsführerin

Niddal ist seit September 2021 Geschäftsführerin der FreeTech – Axel Springer Academy of Journalism and Technology. Die Zukunft des Journalismus ist ihr Thema.

Zuvor war sie seit Mai 2019 als Vize-Chefredakteurin der Nachrichtenagentur dpa. Dort verantwortete sie die Bereiche Produkt & Innovation und entwickelte neue Geschäftsfelder und Umsätze im Digitalen.

Sie studierte Publizistik und Politikwissenschaft in Mainz und Washington, D.C. und schloss das Studium 2012 mit Magister Artium ab. Praxiserfahrung sammelte sie bei UN, ZDF, CNN, Spiegel und Ketchum Pleon. Zu Axel Springer kam sie 2014. Sie arbeitete hier bis 2019 in verschiedenen führenden Positionen im WELT-Newsroom und kümmerte sich um Partnerschaften, Social Media, Paid Content und Newsroom-Innovation.

EKATERINA SCHNEIDER

Head of Digital Training & Upskilling Programs

Als Leiterin der Digitalen Training & Weiterbildiungsprogramme ist Ekaterina für die Entwicklung verschiedener Weiterbilungsprogramme verantwortlich. Ihr Ziel ist es, Technologie-Themen noch stärker in den Weiterbildungsprogrammen bei Axel Springer zu verankern.

Vor ihrem Eintritt in das FreeTech-Team war Ekaterina in den letzten 7 Jahren in verschiedenen Positionen innerhalb der Axel Springer-Gruppe tätig. Ekaterina ist sehr leidenschaftlich in Bezug auf Technologie und deren Auswirkungen auf Bildung. Sie ist eine echte Weltenbummlerin und hat bereits in 3 verschiedenen Ländern gelebt, bevor sie sich vor 11 Jahren in Berlin niederließ.

Außerhalb der Arbeit verbringt Ekaterina die meiste Zeit mit ihrer Familie, entdeckt neue Länder und hat das ehrgeizige Ziel, das Cellospielen zu lernen.

KRISTIN SCHULZE

Head of Academic Affairs

Kristin ist Head of Academic Affairs und Studienleiterin der FreeTech Academy. Sie kümmert sich um die Lehrinhalte der Journalistenschule, betreut die Digital-Projekte der Studierenden, und die Kooperation zwischen unseren Tech-Talenten und JournalistenschülerInnen.

Nach einem Ausflug in die Hotellerie startete Kristin  ihre Karriere als Producerin für BBC, Sky News und das National Public Radio NPR, für die sie während ihres Studiums an der FU Berlin arbeitete.

Schon vor ihrer Ausbildung an der Axel Springer Akademie fing sie als Moderatorin und Reporterin bei Bild.de an. Sie coverte Politik-Ereignisse ebenso wie internationale News und Show-Themen. Seit einigen Jahren arbeitet Kristin jetzt an der FreeTech Academy und freut sich sehr, ständig neue, junge Talente bei ihrem Karrierestart zu unterstützen.

MARC THOMAS SPAHL

Direktor Journalistenschule

Marc Thomas, oder einfach Tom, ist Gründungsdirektor der FreeTech und Leiter der Journalisten-Ausbildung bei Axel Springer. In seiner Heimat Nürnberg begann er als Reporter, absolvierte die Henri-Nannen-Schule in Hamburg, schrieb währenddessen für SPIEGEL, Stern und DIE ZEIT. In den Jahren danach arbeitete er u.a. als Ressortleiter, Textchef, geschäftsführender Redakteur und stellvertretender Chefredakteur bei Gruner + Jahr und in der Verlagsgruppe Milchstraße.

Bei Axel Springer ist er seit 2001, gehörte der Chefredaktion der WELT-Gruppe an, bevor er die „Axel Springer Akademie“ mit aufbaute und 2010 deren Leitung übernahm. Sein Ziel damals wie heute: jungen Talenten die beste und fortschrittlichste Journalistenausbildung zu ermöglichen.

Zu Toms Hobbys gehört unter anderem das Kochen, und um die Folgen der zahllosen, nicht immer gelungenen Experimente abzutrainieren: Laufen.

KATJA TRUsS

Management Assistentin

Als Assistenz der Akademieleitung im Bereich der journalistischen Ausbildung unterstützt Katja unseren Lehrbetrieb. In ihrem ersten Leben war sie Juristin, dann Studienberaterin in einer Englischschule. Im Anschluss verbrachte sie einige Zeit in Südafrika, wo sie ein wenig Deutsch unterrichten konnte. Zurück in Deutschland arbeitete sie als Assistentin einer sog. Heuschrecke, was allerdings auf Dauer etwas zu aufregend war. Deshalb wechselte sie Anfang 2011 zunächst in die Salesabteilung, dann in den Dienstleistungsbereich Axel Springers.

Ziemlich ungeplant hatte sich in ihren CV ein Immobilienschwerpunkt eingeschlichen und hartnäckig gehalten. Seit Beginn an der Academy ist dieses Thema einer sehr lebendigen Aufgabe mit hochmotivierten VolontärInnen und Tech-Studierenden gewichen.

GRIT-KERSTIN URBAN

Management Assistentin

Grit ist Management-Assistentin an der FreeTech Academy. Sie koordiniert das jährliche Bewerbungsverfahren der besten Talente an der Journalistenschule, unterstützt die Academy-Leitung, ist Kontaktperson für Volontäre und Dozenten und betreut den „Axel-Springer-Preis für jungen Journalismus“.

2009 kam sie zu Axel Springer und arbeitete dort zunächst für über ein Jahr im Bereich Konzernorganisation/Konzernentwicklung und im Vorstandsbereich Finance and Services bevor sie 2010 zur Axel Springer Akademie wechselte. Zuvor war sie 12 Jahre bei der Senderfamilie ProSiebenSat.1 im Bereich Programm-Marketing beschäftigt.

Sie liebt Reisen, Sport AlpinSki/Radfahren/Laufen – bevorzugt mit ihrer Familie und Freunden.

JENNIFER WOLF

Assistentin & Head of Editorial internships

Wer ein redaktionelles Praktikum bei der Axel Springer SE absolvieren möchte, ist bei Jenny an der richtigen Adresse. 2012 absolvierte sie im Haus ihre Ausbildung als Medienkauffrau für Digital und Print und arbeitete mehrere Jahre als Digital Managerin bei der WELT Rubriken Vermarktung. Nach weiteren Stops (u.a. bei der Unternehmenskommunikation) wechselte sie 2017 an die FreeTech Academy und betreut seitdem schwerpunktmäßig die Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten.

Wer auf einen kompetenten ersten Eindruck achtet, hat gute Chancen auf eine Anstellung in der Redaktion oder sogar auf das Volontariat an der FreeTech Academy. Ein großes Herz für Meerschweinchen könnte eventuell zu weiteren Pluspunkten bei Jenny führen. Aber lasst das nicht die Direktion erfahren.  

Joeline Radtke

Werkstudentin – Upskilling & Tech

Joeline ist seit kurzem Werkstudentin an der Freetech Academy.

Sie unterstützt unsere Tech- und Upskilling-Programme in ihrem Bestreben, erfolgreichen Journalismus im Zeitalter der Disruption zu fördern und unseren Kollegen die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre vorhandenen Fähigkeiten durch innovative, technologiegestützte Lern- und Upskilling-Programme zukunftssicher zu machen und zu verbessern. 

MELISSA PAPAFIO – ROBERTS

Auszubildende Kauffrau für Büro-Management

Melissa ist seit 2019 bei Axel Springer.
Sie begann bei APX als Empfangsmitarbeiterin und startete 2020 ihre Ausbildung zur Bürokauffrau. Sie begann ihre Ausbildung mit der FreeTech Academy als erste Ausbildungsstation und ist nun wieder dabei, das Team in vielen verschiedenen Projekten zu unterstützen.

© Axel Springer SE 2022 – Die Axel Springer SE will der erfolgreichste Digitalverlag weltweit werden.